Dinghy prize-giving 2016*

Torpoint Mosquito Sailing Club dinghy prize-giving 2016
Winning sailors and volunteers who help run the races were recognised for their hard work, achievements and racing successes at Torpoint Mosquito’s 2016 dinghy prize-giving, held at the clubhouse on Saturday 19 November 2016. The evening was hosted by the Sailing Secretary, Dinghies, Steve Roberts, with a good turnout of dinghy sailors, volunteers and their families despite the horrendous weather courtesy of Storm Angus. Prizes are usually offered to first, second and third placed crews in a series of races across the season. This year the Club presented more than 40 awards in total including awards for the best girl and boy cadet who have progressed into racing. These were won by Grace Cowd and Ross Harvie respectively. Grace’s sister Bethan Cowd, was recognised for her commitment to sailing for turning up week in, week out, and presented with the Commitment Award. Jack Mann (who scooped seven prizes in total) was awarded Best Overall Helm whilst George Dalley received the Paddle of Persistence. A special award for Services to Dinghies was made to Jenny Roberts for all the work she does for the dinghy section in the race hut and generally, and all the other volunteers, without whom the section could not function, were rewarded with a small token of thanks.

As well as being presented with one of the Club’s cups – often invested in memory of distinguished club members of the past – winning sailors also received a small trophy to keep. These trophies were provided for by sponsors. Sponsors for the 2016 trophies included: Peninsula Plumbing, RW Carter Excavations, Kilby’s Restaurant, G & R Electrical Wholesalers, The Jetty and Swift Sails.

To conclude, on behalf of all the sailors, Jack Mann gave a vote of thanks to the dinghy secretary for all his hard work in running the section over the year, which was supported by the club commodore, Steve Creek. Steve Roberts said “I would like to thank everybody who has supported me since I took over the section this time last year. I couldn’t have managed without the support of all the volunteers safety boat crews and start hut team members, and most of all, the dinghy sailors who turn up regularly and race. I would also like to sincerely thank all our sponsors and offer my congratulations to all of the 2016 prize winners”.

Prize-winners: Autumn Series 2015 1.Steve Roberts & Ruby Pearce-Casey 2.Jack Mann & Ron Goggin. Winter series 2015 1. Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 2.Geoff Hall. Spring series 2016 1. Ronnie Carter & Alex Smerdon 2. Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 3.Bill Shimell. Summer Monday series 1 sponsored by Peninsula Plumbing Fast Class 1. Tony Ayers & Grace Cowd 2. Steve Roberts & Ruby Pearce-Casey 3.Mark Helyer. Medium Class 1.Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 2.Noah Rees 3.Bill Shimell. Summer Thursday series 1 sponsored by RW Carter Excavations Fast Class 1. Ronnie Carter & Alex Smerdon 2. Tony Ayers & Bethan Cowd 3. Mark Helyer Medium Class 1. Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 2. Geoff Hall 3. Richard Richmond. Summer Monday series 2 sponsored by Kilby’s Fast Class 1.Tony Ayers & Grace Cowd 2.Nik & Sam Lye 3. Mark Helyer Medium Class 1. Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 2.Bill Shimell 3 Phil Johns. Summer Thursday series 2 sponsored by G & R Electrical Wholesalers Fast class 1.Tony Ayers & Bethan Cowd 2. Ronnie Carter & Alex Smerdon 3. Steve Roberts & Ruby Pearce-Casey Medium class 1 Jack Mann & Ron Goggin 2. Steve Crowder 3.Phil Johns. Dinghy Regatta sponsored by The Jetty/Swift Sails Fast Class 1. Tony Ayers & Bethan Cowd 2. Steve Roberts & Ruby Pearce-Casey Medium Class 1. Bill Shimell 2. George Dalley. St Luke’s Hospice Charity Race Rob Loader. Best Overall Helm Jack Mann. Boy cadet Ross Harvie. Girl cadet Grace Cowd. Paddle of Persistence George Dalley. Services to Dinghies Jenny Roberts.

Thanks to Keith Watts for the pictures.

p1190819 p1190814 p1190821p1190813 p1190812 p1190810 p1190807 p1190806 p1190805 p1190804 p1190802 p1190801 p1190800 p1190799 p1190796 p1190795 p1190793 p1190791 p1190781 p1190779 s: